Your Cart is Empty

Which Kind Of Protein Powders Are The Best?

March 04, 2015 3 min read

There’s whey, casein, soy, egg, plant based! So many to choose from. Which one should you choose and why? Well if you are a vegetarian or lactose intolerant or have allergies, then the choice may already be made for you. However, you may want to have some different ones on hand for variety, for your various goals, or for when you are on the run. Egg Protein These powders are made with pure egg white protein. They don't contain the yolk, so they are low in fat and cholesterol free. Egg protein can be used for those who are allergic to dairy or milk proteins. Egg protein is considered to be the most nearly perfect source of protein because its amino acid pattern most nearly matches that needed for human development. Egg protein is a medium-digesting protein, meaning it'll keep you satisfied for a longer period of time than fast-digesting protein. Whey vs. casein protein These two proteins are both derived from milk and are both excellent sources of all the essential amino acids. However, they differ in one important trait —whey is a fast-digesting protein and casein is a slow-digesting protein. Since whey quickly increases protein synthesis and casein blocks protein breakdown, a combination of both would be best. For example, whey protein can be very effective before and after a workout and first thing in the morning. But since the benefits of whey after exercise are short-lived, you should consume a meal containing protein 20-60 minutes after drinking this post-workout shake. Otherwise, a combo of whey and casein could be consumed 1 hour before and immediately after exercise for a continued benefit on protein balance. Casein is also a perfect protein shake before bed because it helps with a continued absorption while you sleep. Soy Protein Soy protein is processed from the soybean plant. Most of the fat, fiber and carbs are then removed. It's a vegetarian source of protein and is cholesterol free. Soy protein is high in isoflavone or phytoestrogen content, and amino acid glutamine. However, it has also been known to increase estrogen, and soy is a known allergen. Soy is either from GMO (Genetically Modified Organism) or non-GMO soybeans. You’ll have to expect to pay slightly more to buy a non-GMO soy protein, meaning the soybean plant has not had any of its genes altered in any way. Other Plant proteins are ideal alternatives to whey, milk or egg white protein. They are derived from a variety of sources, including peas, hemp, sprouts, and grains and seeds like brown rice, quinoa, millet, spirulina, chia and more. They are rich in vitamins and minerals, and often provide antioxidants, amino acids, fiber and more. They typically have more grams of carbs and less grams of protein per serving than whey, casein or soy. Plant proteins are typically suitable for vegetarian or vegan diets. They are also well stomached by lactose-intolerant individuals. Some other plant protein sources are - rice which is allergen-friendly, cholesterol free and contains no dairy, soy or gluten. Pea protein is an excellent choice for those looking for a protein with no common allergens as well.  It is easy to digest, hypoallergenic, paleo acceptable and non-GMO.   Feel free to follow me on my Facebook page or check out more from me on my blog at www.zuzanaorbodyrockaddict.blogspot.com

Leave a comment

Also in BodyRock Store Blog

Image of Bodyrock blog article - What Happens To Your Butt When You Sit All Day?
What Happens To Your Butt When You Sit All Day?

July 14, 2019 3 min read 124 Comments

Do you think your booty looks a little flat? This might be why!
Read More
Image of Bodyrock blog article - 12 Ways To Make Your Belly Flatter By The End Of The Day
12 Ways To Make Your Belly Flatter By The End Of The Day

July 08, 2017 4 min read 5 Comments

Read More
Image of Bodyrock blog article - 7 Ways To Stop Binge Eating In It's Tracks
7 Ways To Stop Binge Eating In It's Tracks

June 22, 2017 2 min read

Do you ever find yourself knuckle-deep in a bag of Cheetos?
Read More
Shipping & Delivery

Due to COVID-19, shipping systems the world over are experiencing abnormal delays. There is an enormous demand on postal and delivery services as online shopping has skyrocketed, due to store closures and stay-at-home mandates. This is an unprecedented situation, and we are working around the clock to fulfill your orders as quickly as possible. To be clear, we are filling orders in 4-6 days, and we are shipping immediately after that. Once shipped, our shipping partner, UPS, will get your order out to you as quickly as possible. Thanks for your support and understanding.

Are you in Canada? Specifically, are you outside of a metropolitan centre? We need to alert you to a disruption in shipping due to COVID-19. Our preferred shipping provider, UPS, has informed us that they cannot guarantee express shipping for many locations. We have also seen that packages delivered to Toronto, Ottawa, Vancouver, etc, are not waylaid, but packages delivered to areas just outside of these cities are being held in transit for days or even weeks. UPS has discontinued their guarantee of 1-4 day delivery, which you can read more about here. Therefore, we can guarantee early fulfillment but not early delivery of our goods from our warehouse to your door at this time.


We want you to start your fitness journey with us as quickly as possible, that’s why we send every package to the USA & Canada via expedited or standard shipping with our partners at UPS. Once your order is received and processed, it typically takes 2-4 days to get to you once it leaves our warehouse. That’s our commitment and we stand by it.

We ship within Canada and the United States via UPS with Standard & Expedited shipping (whichever is faster)

For locations outside of the US and Canada, we ship using FedEx International (EUROPE and Other Nations), which is usually in transit for 7-10 business days, depending on location.

We ship all of our physical products with UPS, from our warehouse location in Kingston, Ontario, Canada. Delays caused due to custom withholds are not included in these estimated delivery times.

Returns & Exchanges

BodyRock Equipment

We offer a 30-day return policy, as long as: it is not more than 30 days past the date of delivery; and your item is in its original condition and packaging with the original order number. Refunds will be issued when the equipment is received back to the BodyRock warehouse, minus the original cost of shipping, and the customer is responsible for the costs of return shipping. To request a refund on physical product purchases, please contact us.

Digital Products

We cannot issue refunds on digital goods such as e-books or videos, as these are non-tangible goods that are irrevocable once the order is placed.


All of the BodyRock clothing is made to order and so is final sale. If you have any questions about sizing prior to placing your order, please contact us.